terewmachine.blogg.se

Deborah Cox New Album
deborah cox new album





















deborah cox new album

DEBORAH COX (Singer): (Singing) How did you get here? Nobody's supposed to be here.CHIDEYA: The song topped Billboard's R&B chart for 14 weeks, making it one of the longest running R&B singles ever. Her 1998 song 'Nobodys Supposed to Be Here' held the record for longest-running number one single on Billboards Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks chart (14 weeks), a record held for nearly eight years.(Soundbite of song "Nobody's Supposed To Be Here")CD Cox, Deborah - Deborah Cox -> Musical CDs, DVDs SoundOfMusic-Shop, 1995 debut album from the Canadian R&B singer-songwriter and actress Deborah (Aida.Ms. Her 1998 song Nobodys Supposed to Be Here held the record for.Deborah Cox (born July 13, 1974) is a Canadian R&B singer-songwriter and actress.

COX: Because, you know, they are the ones that still want to hear the remixes. I think it's more of a problem for the fans.Ms. COX: It's not a problem for me. So is it a problem for you when you venture out musically?Ms. Deborah Cox spoke to NPR's Tony Cox - no relation.TONY COX: You've done R&B and now jazz, and you said that you don't want to be pigeonholed in one genre of music. In her new album, "Destination Moon," she covers songs by legendary singer Dinah Washington.

deborah cox new album

I think "Destination Moon" is - I think that song really encapsulates the spirit of her that she - that really you can take on anything, anything that you want to take on if you have the courage, if you have the goal and the passion for it.Ms. These are things that I got to know about her after, and that was sort of what lured me into wanting to know more and more and I ended up reading her autobiography and just became like a really, really huge fan of her music.COX: So what - in terms of "Destination Moon," the project, which song - which Dinah Washington song that you cover is the one that says to you and that you want to say to the audience, this is Dinah Washington?Ms. She was, you know, the first woman to play - first black woman to play in Vegas. COX: She was very idealistic because she wanted to have her hands in her son's everyday life, but at the same time, she loved being on the road and she loved doing what she did. COX: (Singing) What a difference a day made, 24 little hours.COX: Did you learn much about her as a person? You know, she had a very turbulent life and I wonder if any of that life - I don't want to use the word lured you into following her music even more, but did it intrigue you at all?Ms. COX: Well, I listened to a lot of what my parents played but as I started to get more and more into Dinah after hearing, you know, what my mother played, I realized that there was this wonderful diversity that she had that I wanted to explore more of.(Soundbite of song "What A Difference A Day Makes")Ms.

COX: You know I said it just like that.COX: "…that nobody want to sing the damn song with me?"Ms. You reportedly said to an audience also at a concert that "certain R&B artists who shall remain nameless" - this is a quote - "were asked to do a duet with me for the album and do you know" - I know you said it just like this…Ms. Kiss the world goodbye and away we'll fly a destination moon.COX: Let's talk about you, Deborah Cox, for a moment, you personally because - and we'll use Dinah as a jumping off point because there was a song and that I made reference to we've talked about earlier that a duet that she did with Brook Benton called "Baby, You've Got What It Takes," and…COX: …you were quoted in the New York Daily News about how difficult it was for you to find somebody to sing a duet with you. We'll have a lovely afternoon.

Deborah Cox New Album Code Word For

It's not popular, meaning, it's not going to make any money?COX: I assume that. A lot of people, you know, still don't understand why I did this album and that's okay, you know?COX: But when you say popular is that sort of a code word for meaning profitable. You know, it seems like artists today are afraid of doing jazz, afraid of doing something outside of what seems to be, you know, popular and I know this isn't a popular move.

The title of which kind of reminds me of the conversation we are having now, which is "Nobody's Supposed to Be Here," but I suppose you are supposed to be here because that's where you are, with a whole new approach. COX: Probably doing "Destination Moon." Just because a lot of people just didn't, I mean - and just like I said - still don't understand why I am doing this album, why this album is out?COX: Well, you know, it's kind of interesting because you had a big, big hit. COX: It was a big leap because I went into it with my eyes completely in awe of the whole Broadway thing.COX: Well, if that wasn't the biggest risk that you've taken in your career, what was?Ms. What word would you use? Challenged?COX: Leap. I don't think that was the biggest risk.COX: Okay. And I suppose, I suppose, and I'd like you tell me if it was or not, that your biggest risk was the 2004 debut of, you know, "Aida."Ms.

deborah cox new album

Deborah Cox, it's wonderful having you in. COX: You know, I just hope she's, you know, looking down and you know, smiling.COX: Well, I'm sure she will enjoy this homage that you have put together for her. Now that's - now that, I would say, is a risk.Ms. You're talking about Dinah.COX: Do you see yourself playing that? Do you see yourself playing Dinah Washington on (unintelligible)?Ms.

Accuracy and availability may vary. This text may not be in its final form and may be updated or revised in the future. Visit our website terms of use and permissions pages at for further information.NPR transcripts are created on a rush deadline by Verb8tm, Inc., an NPR contractor, and produced using a proprietary transcription process developed with NPR.

deborah cox new album