terewmachine.blogg.se

Gibson j 200 black
Gibson j 200 black











They are hard to bring to life with piezo pickups because the sound is so distinctive in real air, but the body shape, the necks and the sheer strength of the guitar are all very important to me. Like the Everly acoustic, it has a rather dead soundboard and that allows you to really dig in when strumming. It was only later I found how well the J-200 records when you play it hard. I picked it out from about five at Manny’s in New York. I settled for what I think all Who fans would have wished - the best mix.” From May 17, 2004, Gibson Guitars interview: J-200s, regrets over smashed guitars, The Who ‘Then and Now’ and more: Q&A with Pete Townshend What’s the story on your original J-200? What is it about a J-200 that makes it so essential to you? Simon did a fantastic job on electric and covered me very well. Ideally I’d like to play acoustic and electric at the same time on stage. A lot of the songs from Quadrophenia, like a lot of Who songs, sound best when I play acoustic. Remember that I write mainly on acoustic guitar. acoustic thing is not just about my hearing, my intransigence, my fear of spearing myself or my musical preferences, it is not just about ‘Pete.’ It is about musical and presentational dynamics as well. I only used the electric channel a few times in the set.” I was actually playing via an acoustic transducer fitted into the guitar which produced a rhythm sound very close to my white Gibson J200. Although I was holding a Stratocaster all the way through the first two dates in the USA it was heavily modified. In fact at the first dates, and even later in the electric Love Reign O’er Me, there was a bit of an illusion going on. “I hope that prior to the tour I didn’t raise fan’s hopes that I was going to play electric all the way through the show. Selected quotesĪll quotes and references are copyright their original owners and are included for reference only. In late 19 he would begin using Fender Eric Clapton Stratocasters fitted with Fishman piezo electronics, to simulate the acoustic sound, switching back and forth between the acoustics and electrics depending on the number. The first Who shows in 1996 saw Pete playing acoustic on stage exclusively. Pete chose the J-200 to match the sound and performance of his beloved sunburst 1968 Gibson J-200, which he acquired new from Manny’s in 1968 and used in virtually every recording from 1969’s Tommy to 1989’s Iron Man. In 2006 he used one of these guitars on Endless Wire. Pete Townshend began using - and continues to use - Gibson J-200 jumbo acoustic guitars on stage for Who and solo performances beginning in 1996, with the Quadrophenia shows.













Gibson j 200 black